December 15, 2012

* N.Joseph Woodland Died at Age 91
The co-creator of the bar code has passed away. I wrote this for Geek News Central.

* Deals at Subway, Starbucks, Baker’s Square, and Many Buffets!
The chain of Buffets owned by Buffets, Inc., has a “letter to Santa” activity that a child can do. Once finished, a coupon for “Kids Eat Free” (with the purchase of an adult entree) appears. I also included deals at other restaurants, cafes, and fast food places. I wrote this for the Deals Blog at Families.com.

* Three More Health Insurance Exchanges Get Approval
The state-based health insurance exchanges for Kentucky, New York, and the District of Columbia have been approved. Add them to the ones that got approved previously: Colorado, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, Oregon, and Washington, and that brings the total to nine. I wrote this for the Insurance Blog at Families.com.

* New York Genealogy Resources
This is part of my series about the genealogy resources of individual states. In this blog, I focus on New York. I wrote this for the Genealogy Blog at Families.com.

* Clarification on Asperger’s Syndrome and Violence
In the news, it has been reported that the shooter that caused the tragedy in Connecticut had Asperger’s Syndrome. I briefly go over why this should not be taken to mean that absolutely all people who have Asperger’s Syndrome are going to do what he did. I wrote this for the Special Needs Blog at Families.com.

