January 10, 11, and 12, 2013

* PowerSkin Unveils Next Generation of Battery Cases at CES 2013
Need a shock-proof, battery charging, bright red or pink case for your smartphone? PowerSkin has it and they are at CES. I wrote this for Geek News Central.

* CNET Announced Official Best Of CES Award Winners
Here’s a quick list of all of the products that were awarded by CNET in CES 2013. I wrote this for Geek News Central.

* International CES 2013 – By the Numbers
This is a quick review of the “numbers” from CES 2013. I wrote this for Geek News Central.

* Frugal Ways to Lose Weight
Trying to lose some weight? You don’t have to spend a bunch of money on diet products or meals from diet companies to do it. Here are some frugal ways to lose weight. I wrote this for the How to Save Blog at Free Coupons.com.

* Deals at Jamba Juice, White Castle, Bob Evans
This blog has links to coupons at Jamba Juice, White Castle, Bob Evans, and some other places. I wrote this for the Deals Blog at Families.com.

* Deals at Long John Silver’s, Arby’s, Quizno’s, and More!
This blog has information, and a link to, tons of coupons from Long John Silver’s, and some coupons from other places. I wrote this for the Deals Blog at Families.com.

* Brand New “Year in Gear” Coupons from Target
Target has a brand new batch of coupons for you. If you use them all, you save over $20.00. I wrote this for the Deals Blog at Families.com.

* Keep Your New Year’s Resolutions and Save on Insurance
I know that sounds strange, but it can actually work. Of course, this depends a bit on what, exactly, you picked as your New Year’s Resolution. I wrote this for the Insurance Blog at Families.com.

* State Farm Warns You to Watch Out for “Smishing”
What is “smishing”? It’s sort of like phishing, but through a text message instead of an email. More details in the blog. I wrote this for the Insurance Blog at Families.com.

* Health Insurance Coverage and the Flu
The one in which I make the argument that if everyone had health insurance coverage (and paid sick days) it would greatly reduce the spread of the flu that is currently going around. I wrote this for the Insurance Blog at Families.com.

* Outdated Auto Insurance Requirement has Been Repealed
President Obama signed a law that repeals a law that required car dealerships to have a packet of collision insurance information on hand (or else pay a fine). No one asks for the packet, and the information in it can be found online or through an insurance agent. I wrote this for the Insurance Blog at Families.com.

* Genealogy in Just Five Minutes
FamilySearch has updated their “5 Minute Genealogy” series of videos. I wrote this for the Genealogy Blog at Families.com.

* MyHeritage Mobile App Version 2.0 Released
Genealogists who use MyHeritage might want to check out the new version of the MyHeritage mobile app. It has some new features, and is free to download. I wrote this for the Genealogy Blog at Families.com.

* What are Your 2013 Genealogy Resolutions?
This year, my genealogy resolution is to make an effort to stay in touch with (some) family members. What’s your’s? I wrote this for the Genealogy Blog at Families.com.

* Senator Franken Says Schools Need More Counselors
Senator Al Franken wants there to be more school counselors, social workers, and psychologists. He is willing to push for federal funding to make that happen. I wrote this for the Special Needs Blog at Families.com.

* Call for Improved Access to Mental Health Care in Colorado
Former Representative Patrick Kennedy is calling for parity. He wants health plans in Colorado to cover mental health as well as they are currently covering physical health care. Governor Hickenlooper wants funding to improve mental health treatment in Colorado. I wrote this for the Special Needs Blog at Families.com.

* Study Finds Mental Health of Expectant Dad Affects Child
It appears that it is advisable for doctors to screen both mothers and fathers for depression and other mental health issues from the moment a pregnancy is discovered. I wrote this for the Special Needs Blog at Families.com.

Featured Retro Blog from Helium
Years ago, I wrote a bunch of blogs for Helium.com. They recently asked the writers to add images to the previously written blogs. I will be linking to the ones that now have photos.

* 5 Reasons to Drink Water Everyday
I originally wrote this in 2008. I added a photo this week. Helium pays by the page clicks, so click the link if you want to help me out.

